Why God Forbid Perfection

October 14, 2008 at 7:15 am (tales of the boyfs) (, , , )

I was hanging out with TheRock, EngineerBoy, and Darna, EngineerBoy’s girlfriend and one of my classmates from medical school, at this nice little café for some drinks and coffee (for TheRock who didn’t drink alcohol).

 

“So, [mistress], how come you and TheRock never hooked up?” Darna asked me.

 

TheRock and I laughed, me, slightly with discomfort.

“Yeah,” EngineerBoy chimed in. “I mean, you’re bestfriends, you always hang out with each other, you’re both open-minded. Imagine if you two were a couple, and the four of us would be double-dating all the time. Wouldn’t that be just sweet?”

 

“Yeah, I mean, seriously, TheRock, weren’t you ever interested in [mistress]?”

 

“She’s a girl, you’re a boy. She’s nice, you’re nice. She’s smart, you’re smart. She’s good-looking, you’re very rich,” EngineerBoy joked and we all laughed at his attempt to make fun of TheRock’s looks. TheRock was not that easily offended thankfully.

 

He just grinned and said one of the most profound things I have ever heard him say in his entire life, “You know, God does not allow perfection.”

 

We all laughed.

 

“If [mistress] and I fell inlove with each other and became a couple, it would have been perfect. We would have been so good for each other that it would be the perfect kind of relationship. But we wouldn’t be fighting with each other at all and it would be so boring, so God said, this is too perfect, I wouldn’t allow this. Thus, he made sure that perfection should be forbidden and thus, he gave [mistress] the most un-perfect boyfriend in the form of Rockstar, whom she constantly keeps fighting with. Hence, the reason why [mistress] and I never hooked up.”

 

Of course, TheRock was simply making an attempt to make light of our situation.

 

But still, somehow, as crazy as it sounded, it did make sense.

 

Leave a comment